sevgi ceyda

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.” – Rosalia de Castro

Rwandan Culture

“All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.” Martin Buber 

I would like to summarise 3 personal highlights from Rwanda. One about a drink, one about food and the final about Rwandese art.

Drink -African Ginger Tea! 

IMG_1250

I didn’t know about African tea until recently. Since my first day in Rwanda, I became addicted to this beautiful Ginger&Milk tea! In Rwanda, nothing tastes better than a cup of warm African tea in the morning and in the evening (after a busy work day).

What is special about this tea and what makes this tea so uniquely delicious?

Its “secret” ingredient –  a sprinkle of ginger! and the fact that Sev loves ginger! It’s a little bit spicy and aromatic and very fresh!

It reminds me of “chai tea latte” but even better version of it! This is prepared purely from natural ingredients and some people believe that African Tea acts like a medicine in some cases. No matter what the purpose is, this tea is just perfect! I even started making this tea for myself in my home, in Turkey!

If you want to learn more about African Tea – check:

http://chickabouttown.com/2008/08/28/“african-tea”/

http://tt1rwanda.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/african-ginger-tea-recipe/

RwandArt – “Agaseke”

A basket with a pointed lid is called “Agaseke” or “Igiseke” in Rwanda. During my time in Rwanda, I learned that in Rwandan culture, “agaseke” is a very traditional object, symbolizing a secret or a wish for prosperity that might be hidden within the basket. Agaseke comes in distinct colors and sizes. 

IMG_2567

According to the traditions when a young girl gets married, she has to bring with her a “agaseke”, so as to store in it her treasures and other valuables, as well as to decorate her new home.

The main material of Agaseke is “Sisal”.  Sisal is a natural mountain plant with thick green leaves. Inside of these leaves are thin white fibers, natural threads, which are used for the production of various crafts such as Agaseke. 

Food – Bananas, Chicken, Cassava, Beans, etc…!

IMG_1859

Chicken, plantains, and potatoes

Bananas, plantains, sweet potatoes, beans, brochettes (goat kebabs), ugali (a stiff porridge made with maize meal), grilled/fried tilapia fish, cassava and many more…

IMG_2169

Plantains, Brochettes and chips

IMG_1882

Open buffet Lunch -potatoes, sweet potatoes, cassava&beans

IMG_2019

Classic meal in Rubavu – fish from Lake Kivu served with Fou Fou

All meals were unique and very special for me! Enjoyed them a lot!

6 comments on “Rwandan Culture

  1. Biche
    March 9, 2014

    Very interesting. How long were you in Rwanda?

  2. Sevgi Ceyda
    March 9, 2014

    Thanks Biche! I was in Rwanda only for 2 weeks. Short time. I would love to go again and explore the country more!

  3. Biche
    November 7, 2014

    I got to do that this July and loved what I discovered of Rwanda outside Kigali. Very beautiful country with a rich history and lots of culture.

  4. Biche
    November 7, 2014

    (I will be visiting Istanbul later this month and I can’t wait!)

    • Sevgi Ceyda
      November 7, 2014

      Wow! Thats great Biche! Istanbul is a fascinating city. Enjoy your time! If you need any tips, let me know 😉

      • Biche
        November 8, 2014

        Thank you. Shall do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2013 by in Africa, Rwanda.
