sevgi ceyda

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.” – Rosalia de Castro

Amman, Jordan

“If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay home.” – James Michener 

I arrived to Amman, Jordan on 27 September and since then I have been interning for an international organization. I will be doing field research in Zimbabwe and Rwanda, so I have been preparing myself for this.

Apart from work I do here, so far, I am enjoying myself. Lovely people and huge amounts of daily food. Beef, chicken, lamb, pita bread, hummus, labaneh, olives, halva and many more.

On my second night in Amman, I have been to “Levant” for dinner.One of the best restaurant in Amman with dishes representing all of the Lebanese, Syrian, Palestinian and Jordanian culture, and also featuring an authentic Armenian cuisine.

http://WWW.LEVANT-JO.COM/index.html

Cold Mezzes

                         Cold Mezzes

Cherry Sauce Meatballs

             Cherry Sauce Meatballs

Mezzes - Manti and Freekeh

         Mezzes – Manti and Freekeh

I don’t feel like a stranger here, thanks to the food and to the weather 🙂 I love the breakfast, especially. 3-4 different types of cheese, fresh tomatoes, cucumber, olives, nice bread, tea, yoghurt, fruits… can’t ask for more.

Breakfast at Amman

   Breakfast in Amman

For lunch, as the working staff, we order food from outside. Huge variety, great amounts of food. And its all about beef, lamb and chicken. Hard to find something vegetarian. This is how one of the meetings rooms in the office look like around 1.30pm 🙂

IMG_1194

One day, I had something similar to “Qoozi”. Dough stuffed with lamb, rice and vegetables. It came with yoghurt and salad, perfect for Sev!

IMG_1197

My Amman experience; so far so good. This time I wasn’t able to do much sightseeing in Amman but I will be coming back to Amman soon (after 20 days). And when I come back, I am hoping to focus more on touristic attractions rather than the cuisine 🙂

One comment on “Amman, Jordan

  1. Zeynep
    September 5, 2013

    Lovely Sevgi! I felt like i had the 3 main meals with you in Amman 🙂 Cannot wait to hear more…
    All the best from Istanbul!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2013 by in Middle East and tagged , , .

Navigation

